Senate Council October 16, 2006 Senate's Retroactive Withdrawal Application Committee Request

For the academic year 2005 – 2006 and preceding years, the Senate's Retroactive Withdrawal Application Committee's (SRWAC) membership consisted of a representative from UK's Counseling and Testing Center (CTC). The web site for the SRWAC included a comment that the rep from the CTC was an *ex officio* non-voting member.

During the time when Senate committees were being composed in Fall 2006 for the 2006 – 2007 year, a question arose as to the rationale behind the CTC rep being an *ex officio* non-voting member. The *Senate Rules* make no reference to a non-voting status for any member other than for a representative of the Associate VP for Employment Equity and a representative from the Assistant Dean of Students directing the Disability Resource Center. (The pertinent section of the *Senate Rules* regarding the SRWAC is below.) Therefore, the committee was told that only those two specific individuals would be non-voting members.

The SRWAC discussed this, and all members, including the representative from the Counseling and Testing Center, unanimously request that the Senate Rules be changed so that the Counseling and Testing Center representative is a nonvoting member. The SRWAC is concerned about a possible conflict of interest, since the CTC could be interacting with students involved in the retroactive withdrawal process.

Recommendation: that the Senate Rules be changed so that the Counseling and Testing Center representative is a non-voting ex officio member of the Senate's Retroactive Withdrawal Application Committee.

1.4.3.2 Senate Retroactive Withdrawal Appeals Committee (SRWAC) (US: 12/8/97)

A. The SRWAC shall consist of four members of the University Faculty and one student, plus a sufficient number of alternates, named by the Senate Council. A representative of the Associate VP for Employment Equity, and a representative from the Assistant Dean of Students directing the Disability Resource Center, will serve as *ex officio* nonvoting members of the Committee

B. The Committee shall decide all student requests for retroactive withdrawals as provided by Rule V - 5.1.8.5.